Sweet Peas and Saffron’s White Bean and Roasted Garlic Hummus

Doing supply teaching in London means that during the first week of Term, particularly this late in the year, means you might not get work. My problem is how to pass the time by not spending money yet still cook. So I thought that since I have numerous tinned beans in my cupboard, I would attempt this version of hummus!
I have also found that making sure you follow the recipe below is a good idea. I didn’t have any tahini (I use peanut butter in hummus usually to combat this) and I really didn’t want to use it in this recipe, so I thought I have sesame seeds, so why not make my own tahini? Yeahhhh… I didn’t have enough sesame seeds so the dip ended up with bits of the seeds instead of a smoother consistency. Lucky I like sesame!
Also, I used three small heads of garlic… was a bit too much! I added more lemon juice instead to try and dull the garlicky-ness (not a word, but will gladly take credit for it!)
Ingredients
Roasted Garlic
  • 1 head of garlic
  • olive oil
Hummus
  • 1 can of cannellini beans {or white kidney beans}
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice {1/2 a lemon approximately}
  • ¼ -1/2 tsp salt {taste and decide}
  • ½ tsp ground coriander (I used parsley)
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • ½ tsp fresh rosemary, chopped {to garnish} (I used parsley)

Method

Roasted Garlic

IMG_7698

I roasted it for about half an hour since the were smaller than what was in the recipe.

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400°F
  2. Cut the top ¼ inch off of a head of garlic.
  3. Wrap in aluminium foil; drizzle olive oil into head before sealing.
  4. Bake for 40 minutes. Remove from oven and cool slightly.
     Hummus
  5. While garlic is roasting, assemble remaining ingredients in the food processor.
  6. After garlic has roasted and cooled slightly, squeeze the cloves out of the skin into the food processor.
  7. Blend for 30 seconds-1 minute, scrape sides of processor and repeat.img_7701.jpg

I think this dip would be great with smashed avocado and goat’s cheese on a piece of rye bread or even crackers. Carrots would be great too, as they’re quite sweet so that will also limit the garlic (in my dip anyway!) Or just spoon it in your mouth (no judgement).

 

Leave a Reply

