Sisters Doing It For Themselves

WARNING: YOU MAY CRY BECAUSE OF HOW HEART FELT THE FOLLOWING POST IS. THINK ALL THE SADNESS FELT FROM NICHOLAS SPARKS MOVIES IN ONE GREAT READ. Don’t say I didn’t warn ya…

It is probably best to state first off that I actually don’t have any sisters. But I like to believe that good girl friends make the best sisters. I’ve mentioned before in previous posts that I have a ‘squad’ (I’m still not entirely comfortable with that term, but it still applies- still shot gun Taylor Swift though), built on laughter, alcohol, food and support. Today my best friends and I went to visit another best friend of ours, as we believed she needed a little pick me up. We made our favourite Mexican food and talked through our usual content- boys and life- and it was right then and there I realised how important it is to have good girl friends around you. Ones that comfort you when you’ve been hurt, ones that see your ugly Kim Kardashian crying face and ones that see you naked as they put fake tan on your back… you get my drift. But even if you don’t have close girl friends, having strong female influences in your life is important and moving away from home shows you that. It is particularly important to build those relationships when you have moved away, to make those times a little less hard.

I have three main female figures in my family at home that I admire and miss dearly. My mum, who is always there to wipe away my tears when I’m hating on life and tries to tell me every time we Skype that Prince Harry is still available- I somehow think this Aussie isn’t his cup of tea. She (and my dad too) have put up with a lot of my shit over the years and yet still manage to call me their favourite child (sorry bro).

My aunty, who has always given me advice and would do anything for her family. She also fed me English muffins with butter and Guava juice every day for breakfast during primary school. I no longer eat or drink any of it.

And lastly, my cousin. This girl is beautiful inside and out. I grew up wanting to be like her (well BE her really) and she consistently taught me to value myself and be happy. Both her, and her partner, have taught everyone around them to stick to your morals and be comfortable with who you are and who you love.

It is these types of people in your life that you need to stick to like glue and never let go. It is these times when you reach out to someone you value in your life (specially if they’re back home) that you reflect on those who you need and want in your life… and ones that probably shouldn’t stay.

Now wipe away those tears that I’ve made you cry, slap on some red lipstick and go out with your sisters. Enjoy. I suggest tequila shots as soon as you get to your destination.

Leave a Reply

