I Just Courgette Enough…Slice

This is a recipe from my mother, Sue (or Susie to close family- so don’t call her that.) Mum is an amazing cook (I’m not bias). This recipe has now been sent to friends because it’s so good, and it’s versatile because you can put whatever you like in it. Also, Australians also know this as ‘Zucchini’ slice, but you know… trying to assimilate here! This is Susie’s (don’t call her that- warning ya) recipe:

5 eggs

150g (1 cup) self raising flour

375g Courgette *cough* Zucchini, grated

1 large onion, finely chopped (you can use leeks instead if ya not feeling the onions)

200g rindless bacon, chopped

1 cup grated cheese (I use a mature chedder so you don’t need to use as much of it…but each to their own!)

60ml (1/4 cup) vegetable oil

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degress fan forced
  2. Grease and line 30x20cm Lamington tin (I use a glass dish from Morrisons and it works perfectly- make sure you still grease it though)
  3. Beat the eggs in a large bowl until combined.
  4. Add the flour and beat until smooth (I use a fork to mix it together), then add courgette/zucchini, onion/leek, bacon, cheese and oil and stir to combine.
  5. Pour into the prepared tin/dish and bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until cooked through.

Some notes:

  • I made this to include capsicum, corn and grated carrot, but my friend added sweet potato inside and tomato on top- that’s the beauty of this recipe, add whatever you like! Just make sure if you’re using frozen veggies like I did, cook it for longer to make sure it’s cooked through well.
  • I also added the cheese on top rather than inside. Golden on top- yum!
  • It also looks like a quiche too, rather than a slice. No clue why it’s called slice. But I’m not changing it now, Susie will come after me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

